The World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour (BWT) has issued a Green Alert for the Nazaré Tow Surfing Challenge pres. By Jogos Santa Casa at Nazaré, Portugal to run on tomorrow, February 11, 2020. The first call will be made at 8 a.m. local time (GMT) on Tuesday.

“We have been tracking this weather system for a few days and conditions seem to keep improving with very large swell and light winds,” Bill Sharp, Big Wave Tour General Manager said. “This looks to be the best opportunity in the season so we have decided to call the Green Alert.”

“There has been so much progression in tow-surfing these last few years that it is great to finally have a format that really suits it,” Sharp added. “Everybody will surf several times and at the end of the day will get together to decide the winners, this is really exciting!”

It will be he first, team-oriented big wave tow-in event in the league’s history.

Here’s how it works:
– 19 big wave surfers from around the globe – 17 men and 2 women – will be paired up in tow teams;
–  They will compete in a four-hour expression session with no elimination, and an option to run longer if conditions are right;
–  The session will feature a rotating heat format and priority system that keeps five teams in the water at all times;
– Each tow team will get two, one-hour heats to whip each other into waves of mind-boggling heights;

Guinness World Records will potentially be broken, severe wipeouts and daring feats of water rescue. And, unique to this event, the final results will be determined by an athlete-led judging panel.

Four honors will be awarded at the end of the day:
1 – Men’s Wave of the Day
2 – Women’s Wave of the Day
3 – Team Champions
4 – Jogos Santa Casa Commitment Award

Later that evening at an athlete reception, the day’s top performances will be shown on the big screen, and each competitor will privately vote for their favorites. The final voting tally will determine the winners, as judged by their elite, heavy-water peers.

Competitor List:

Group A: Heats 1 & 3
Team World: Sebastian Steudtner (DEU) & Maya Gabeira (BRA)
Team Europe: Nic von Rupp (PRT) & Francisco Porcella (ITA)
Team France: Benjamin Sanchis (FRA) & Eric Rebiere (FRA)
Team Australia: Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS) & Mick Corbett (AUS)
Team Atlantic: Grant Baker (ZAF) & João Macedo (PRT)

Group A: Heats 2 & 4
Team Portugal: Alex Botelho (PRT) & Hugo Vau (PRT)
Team Great Britain: Andrew Cotton (GBR) & Tom Butler (GBR)
Team Brazil: Rodrigo Koxa (BRA) & Pedro Scooby (BRA)
Team Young Bulls: Lucas Chianca (BRA) & Kai Lenny (HAW)
Team Justine: Justine Dupont (FRA) surfer only/Fred David driver only