The World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour (BWT) window officially opens today for the 2018/2019 season. This year’s BWT will feature three events at the most challenging big wave breaks on the planet: Nazaré in Portugal, Jaws (or Pe’ahi) in Hawaii, and Mavericks in California.

The Nazaré Challenge and Jaws Challenge holding periods opened today, while the Mavericks Challenge event window will open November 1, 2018, pending final permit approval by state agencies. All three competition windows will close on March 31, 2019.

“We are excited to open this year’s Big Wave Tour today,” said Mike Parsons, WSL Big Wave Tour Commissioner. “We have three great events on the schedule that will test the world’s best surfers, and the culmination of events will determine this year’s Big Wave Champions. The windows for Nazaré and Jaws are now officially open and we are working diligently with all agencies to finalize details for Mavericks to open on November 1.”

“This is going to be a historic year for the women’s Big Wave Tour because this is the first season where we will have a multi-event Big Wave Champion,” Jessi Miley-Dyer, WSL Women’s Commissioner, said. “This year’s Big Wave Tour will feature two women’s events, equal prize money, 10 surfers per event, and, pending approval from state agencies, we are excited for the opportunity to host the first-ever women’s competition at Mavericks. We cannot wait to see the women push the limits at these world-famous big wave breaks, Jaws and Mavericks.”

WSL Big Wave Tour officials will monitor swell producing storms for the duration of the tour window and watch for the conditions that will produce waves in the 30-to-60-foot range. Once the call is made, competitors will have 72 hours notice to be ready to compete.

2018/2019 Nazaré Challenge 
Men’s Invitees: Billy Kemper, Kai Lenny, Ian Walsh, Makuakai Rothman, Lucas Chianca, Jamie Mitchell, Tom Lowe, Alex Botelho, Greg Long, Natxo Gonzalez, Will Skudin, Grant Baker, Nathan Florence, Jojo Roper, Russell Bierke, João De Macedo, Rodrigo Koxa, Antonio Silva, Hugo Vau, Nic Von Rupp, João Guedes, Three WSL BWT Invitees TBD by WSL BWT Commissioner
Men’s Event Alternates: Ryan Hipwood, Andrew Cotton, Tom Butler, Axi Muniain